Field Report - Field Report

Regular price $10.00

Field Report is the creation of Chris Porterfield, who cut his musical teeth with Justin Vernon (Bon Iver) and the members of Megafaun in the now-legendary band DeYarmond Edison. After their breakup in 2006, Bon Iver and Megafaun went on to success while Chris hung back in Wisconsin, thinking his career in music was over. It was really just beginning. For the first time in his life, he began writing his own songs, which he spent the following five years carefully divining, killing off, revising, and honing. In December 2011, the record was created at Vernon's studio in Fall Creek, WI. The result is a haunting, lyrical narrative that has already garnered a swell of attention nationwide.

Porterfield explains, “We began to feel like it was time to make a record in the fall of 2011. Around that time, Bon Iver was touring, and came through Milwaukee. I was talking with Justin, and he said that he had heard through the grapevine that I finally had found the right people to play with. He invited us to use his space. We were particularly interested in recording at his studio (April Base) because of th e large live room. We wanted to capture the sound of a band in a moment. We specifically brought Beau [Sorenson] in for this reason, and for his love of later Talk Talk.” 

The result is a haunting set of songs that’s crafty, lyrical, and poignant. After sending a few unfinished tracks to select people, the response was immediate and impacting: producer Paul Kolderie (Radiohead, Warren Zevon, The Pixies, Uncle Tupelo) fell in love with them and offered to mix the record, which he did in February 2012. 

This momentum continued into the spring, as Rolling Stone’s feature on the band championed them as “poised to break out in 2012.” Much of Porterfield’s early praise has focused on his poetic prowess: admired Pitchfork, “[Porterfield] lifts parables and history lessons wholesale to apply them to his own conflicts.” SPIN loved the band’s “quiet, Will Oldham-like fire,” while the San Francisco Bay-Guardian noted that Porterfield’s “retrospection and emotionality…will make you want to melt into his world.” Aquarian Drunkard was awed by the “honey and gravel vocals,” while NYLON deemed the music “pure stripped-down gorgeousness.”

01. Fergus Falls
02. The Year of the Get You Alone
03. I Am Not Waiting Anymore
04. Taking Alcatraz
05. Incommunicado
06. Circle Drive
07. Chico The American
08. Evergreen
09. Captain Video
10. Route 18

Standard Black Vinyl LP includes Digital Download Card (High Quality 320 kbps MP3).

Released September 11, 2012