John Grant - Love Is Magic

Regular price $25.00

Gatefold 2xLP is available on black vinylDeluxe Edition 2xLP on clear vinyl is enclosed in gatefold packaging with John Grant photo booklet. All orders come with an instant digital MP3 download of “Love Is Magic" single.

“Each record I make is more of an amalgamation of who I truly am,” declares John Grant. “The more I do this, the more I trust in myself, and the further along I go.”

Even when the Michigan-born man released his debut solo album Queen Of Denmark in 2010, Grant laced sumptuous soft-rock ballads with an array of spacey, wistful synthesizer sounds, increasingly adding taut, fizzing sequencers, nu-synth-disco settings and icy soundscapes to the mix on 2012’s Pale Green Ghosts and 2015’s Grey Tickles, Black Pressure, the latter The Guardian described as, “variously agonizing, hilarious, uplifting and moving: another bravura display from a unique songwriting talent.”

Now, with his fourth solo album, Love Is Magic, Grant has continued evolving, creating his most electronic record yet, in collaboration with Benge (Ben Edwards), solo artist, analogue synth expert/collector and a member of electronica trio Wrangler, Grant’s collaborators earlier this year under the collective name of Creep Show (on the album Mr Dynamite).

Produced by Grant, and engineered by Benge at his Cornish studio, the diamond-hard, diamond-gleaming Love Is Magic, “is how I’ve always wanted my records to sound, but I didn’t know how until now,” Grant says. He also called on Paul Alexander of Denton, Texas maestros Midlake, renewing a working relationship that began on Queen Of Denmark.


01 Metamorphosis

02 Love is Magic

03 Tempest

04 Preppy Boy

05 Smug Cunt

06 He's Got His Mother's Hips

07 Diet Gum

08 Is He Strange

09 The Common Snipe

10 Touch and Go



1. Metamorphosis
2. Love Is Magic
1. Tempest
2. Preppy Boy
1. Smug Cunt
2. He’s Got His Mother’s Hips
3. Diet Gum
1. Is He Strange
2. Common Snipe
3. Touch And Go


Released on October 12, 2018