John Grant - Pale Green Ghosts

John Grant - Pale Green Ghosts

Regular price $10.00

After a breakthrough year that saw his exceptional solo debut Queen Of Denmark win MOJO’s album of 2010 and countless other accolades John Grant didn't rest on his laurels but created a follow-up that underlines his uncanny and charismatic talents.

Recorded in Iceland, Grant's new home, Pale Green Ghosts features a range of local heros including saxophonist Óskar Gudjónsson and producer Birgir Þórarinsson, a.k.a. Biggi Veira of Scandinavian electronic pioneers Gus Gus. Also featuring the magnificent Sinead O’Connor on guest vocals, the album is a collection of Grant's typically caustic revelations and scabrous humour that delves into sex, sexuality and the pitfalls of growing up in an era - and a particularly religious environment - that ostracized gay men.

Combining all these strands with the admission that Grant is HIV positive, the brilliant Pale Green Ghosts adds sublime notes of dark, gleaming electronica to the anticipated velveteen ballads, calling on all of Grant’s influences and tastes, presenting an artist at the peak of his powers.

01. Pale Green Ghosts
02. Black Belt
03. GMF
04. Vietnam
05. It Doesn't Matter To Him
06. Why Don't You Love Me Anymore
07. You Don't Have To
08. Sensitive New Age Guy
09. Ernest Borgnine
10. I Hate This Town 
11. Glacier

White Vinyl 2xLP comes with deluxe gatefold sleeve and includes Digital Download Card.

Released May 14, 2013.