Emily Wells - Mama

Regular price $10.00

Emily Wells brings her new record, Mama, out with label support from Partisan Records in the Spring of 2012. 

Releasing her own music from a young age, Wells learned to keep her work close, and toured independently while developing her palate and performance across the U.S. It was in a humble garage studio in Los Angeles that Wells’ recorded her 2008 breakthrough, The Symphonies: Dreams Memories & Parties, picking up praise from sources as varied as NPR and SPIN, who compared her to “a feral, streetwise Nina Simone.”

Three years later, Wells returns with Mama, a collection of songs as richly hued as ever, but imbued with a newfound warmth no doubt owing to the space it was conceived in. Wells rented a tiny cabin on a Topanga Canyon horse ranch and went to work, producing Mama and playing most of the instruments herself (with a little help from longtime touring companions, drummer Sam Halterman and bassist Joey Reina). She recorded the raw tracks to tape without punch-ins or loops, often in one take. In contrast to The Symphonies, these songs are less conceptual and experimental in both sound and content, and more traditional and universal in structure and the studies of love and grief. 2012 will find Wells touring behind Mama, her first release for Partisan Records, and preparing for the release of Pillowfight, her long whispered-about collaboration with legendary producer Dan The Automator.

01. Piece Of It
02. Dirty Sneakers And Underwear
03. Passenger
04. Mama's Gonna Give You Love
05. Johnny Cash's Mama's House
06. Let Your Guard Down
07. Fire Song
08. No Good
09. Instrumental
10. Darlin'

Limited Edition Black Vinyl LP, Hand-Numbered to 250 by Emily, includes Digital Download Card (High Quality 320 kbps MP3).

Released April 10, 2012.